Boyhood Trailer

Genius idea for a film. When I first heard of this movie being made I got really excited. Then I watched the trailer. Wow. Wow. Wow. I don’t even know what to say about it other than I can’t wait to see how it comes out. Just the idea of filming a kid from age 5 to age 18 blows my mind. It’s like one of those movies that casts two or three different kids to show him mature and then just use make-up for the adults for the time-lapse, but this will be real. Authentic. This will be the same people living through these years. Unbelievable. I can’t say that enough.

Also, what dedication to film this for 12 years. Obviously it is on and off shooting, but it has to be hard to put together. Especially the writing aspect. To develop a cohesive storyline over the course of those 12 years. I honestly have no idea what to expect and that excites the hell out of me. All I know is that when I see it, it will be the first time I have ever seen anything like it. No one has. This is uncharted territory that Linklater is chartering. It is ingenuity like this that is lost in filmmaking nowadays. In this era, summer blockbusters and bottom lines are the most important. Not being creative. It’s a real shame, so seeing something this out-there and this creative gives me a warm feeling inside that things can get better.

Boyhood finally lands into theaters on July 11, 2014.

Leave a Reply

