Emmy Predictions

Will Bryan Cranston win his fourth Emmy?

Will Bryan Cranston win his fourth Emmy?

I like tv. Probably too much. I don’t know, I should do better things with my life, but, well, I don’t. I have my thoughts and my feelings and that is all that matters. Whatever “wins” doesn’t validate anything, it just means that the people who voted for some award voted for this thing or that guy. So, I don’t take too much weight into who or what wins, I just like to watch tv, but you know that already.

However, I’ll be mad if Matthew McConaughey wins over Bryan Cranston. That shouldn’t happen. For the rest of my thoughts, just scroll down. I’ll be brief and I’m not doing all the awards, because I don’t care.

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series: Kate McKinnion

Just so we can see her do her speech as Russian lady who lives in a forest with Seth Meyers, who will lose his shit. I care not for Emmy. Will it save me from bear attack? I think not!

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series: Ty Burrell

He’s slowly not becoming the asshole from the Dawn of the Dead remake. Okay, he’s far from it now. I lied. Phil Dunphy for dad of the year!

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series: Amy Poehler

Knope!

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series: Louis C.K.

Why not. Anybody but Jim Parsons please.

Outstanding Guest Actress in a Comedy Series: Laverne Cox

Someone from Orange is the New Black is taking home this award since it’s stacked.

Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series: Steve Buscemi

I’ll admit it. I haven’t seen Portlandia . . . yet! . . . but the fact that Buscemi is nominated for this category just screams me picking him. I just have to.

Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series: Veep

Veep is a show all its own. The people that write for this show are on another level of funny. So are the Parks and Rec writers, who are mysteriously absent in this category . . .

Outstanding Directing for a Comedy Series: Louie

Say what you want, Louie is Louie. He sets his own pacing and rhythm for the show and although the fourth season was subject to some bizarre criticism, C.K.’s vision remained constant.

Outstanding Comedy Series: Veep

Like, seriously, this show is great. It has a plethora of characters who are all distinct and important and actually have depth. In a comedy. And it’s hilarious, which is also very important.

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries/TV Movie: Allison Tolman

As the pregnant police officer, Tolman thrives. This show was fantastic and Tolman’s headstrong Molly Solverson is a big part why.

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Miniseries/TV Movie: Martin Freeman

I hope people know how great Martin Freeman is in everything he does.

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Miniseries/TV Movie: Jessica Lange

What makes American Horror Story work is the fact that the actors involved sell the material so well. It’s played serious and not over-the-top, which Lange plays with precision.

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Miniseries/TV Movie: Benedict Cumberbatch

Talk about selling. Cumberbatch as Sherlock is such a treat. He plays the famous sleuth with such gusto and energy that you can’t help but be swept away.

Outstanding Writing for a Miniseries, Movie, or Dramatic Special: Fargo

My heart says Sherlock, but my head says Fargo. Either way, we are all winners.

Outstanding Directing in a Miniseries/TV Movie: Fargo: “Buridan’s Ass”

As with the last category, I want to say Sherlock, but the visuals created in Fargo are much more at the forefront.

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series: Anna Gunn

As much as I would love to see Lena Headey win for Cersei Lannister, Gunn kills it as Walter’s distressed, but independent wife in Breaking Bad. A win would make it two in a row for her.

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series: Peter Dinklage

If Charles Dance were nominated, he’d be my pick. Not as sexy as Dinklage, but Dance played Tywin Lannister with such stoicism and bravado. He couldn’t be touched, until he was. His time on the show was memorable and he deserved at least a nomination. But hey, at least we have this epic monologue by Dinklage. “I wish I was the monster you think I am!” Oh, Aaron Paul winning would be way cool too. Yeah, bitch!

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama series: Lizzy Caplan

To be fair, out of all the actresses, I have only seen Masters of Sex. But, to be fair again, Lizzy Caplan CRUSHES it as Virginia Johnson. She is a scintillating watch as an open women in an era where women are far from frisky. She tows the line of restraint and emotion and you occasionally see her boobs. Really pulling for you, Ms. Johnson.

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series: Bryan Cranston

You already know my sentiments here. Somehow, not without the gasps of the audience, Jeff Daniels stole this award from Cranston. It seems to be the year of the McConaissance, but Cranston as Walter White in Breaking Bad packs so much emotion and intensity into the character. I don’t care what anyone says: Cranston > McConaughey. White > Cohle.

Outstanding Guest Actress on a Drama Series: Diana Rigg 

She is funny and flirty as the the eldest Tyrell and because Diana Rigg used to look like this, which led to her being a Bond girl in Her Majesty’s Secret Service.

Outstanding Guest Actor on a Drama Series: Robert Morse

Morse’s time on Mad Men has come to a close in a very memorable send-off. This one’s for you, Burt. You aren’t as senile as you appear.

Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series: Game of Thrones: “The Children”

What a remarkable hour of television Benioff and Weiss gave us that night. It was so good, it was the only episode they submitted for the Emmys, because no other was as worthy.

Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series: True Detective: “Who Goes There”

Cary Joji Fukunaga threw Nic Pizzolatto and True Detective under the bus before the show even aired citing the workload to be too much for one man. Then people watched and were blown away by his direction.

Outstanding Drama Series: Breaking Bad

Now, although Game of Thrones is wildly popular, it’s also gone fairly under the radar as far as Emmy recognition goes. I feel like it will eventually win this category. However, it won’t be this year. It is up against the final eight episodes of Breaking Bad. A joyous roller coaster of television. Man, just take me back.

Leave a Reply

