Trailer of the Week: Assassin’s Creed

I have never player the video game this film is based on, but I know the idea around the game enough. And besides, they lay it out in the trailer pretty well. As a science fiction guy, the premise of this film intrigues me. Time-traveling is a tricky idea to make work, since we don’t have any rules, since it is not a real thing. Everything about the idea is up for suggestion. Is it possible? How do you actually do it? Can you change the past? What happens if you run into yourself in the past? And plenty of other quagmires to run into with a time-traveling plot.

Michael Fassbender is an actor I can watch play any role. Just a marvelous performer. For my money, he is the best part of the X-Men movies. His doubt and fear in the first installment of that franchise brings the character to light and makes the audience understand how Magneto and Professor X became enemies, though they started out as friends. It is that sort of standout performance that I expect from him in every film, even a film where he plays a time-traveling assassin. I expect him to bring a performance where I relate to him, where, no matter what is written on the page, I will understand his actions based on his acting performance.

I must admit, I have never heard of director Justin Kurzel before. His IMDb resume is quite short, but he did direct Fassbender in Macbeth, which looked dope and had a distinct look just from the trailer. I will try and see that before I see this film. I have time, as Assassin’s Creed hits theaters theaters on December 21, 2016.

Leave a Reply

