Daddy’s Home 2 Trailer

Full disclaimer: I have not seen the original Daddy’s Home. I have a memory of that movie coming out around Christmas at some point in the past. I wanna say 2015. I am a huge fan of Will Ferrell and I do like Mark Wahlberg and they were fantastic in The Other Guys. Ferrell’s coy meekness coupled with Wahlberg’s masculinity is something I can get behind. But lo, Daddy’s Home did not get great reviews, so I never went out of my way to see it. I doubt I missed anything special.

However, I was recently in the movie theater seeing Baby Driver and this trailer came on and, boy, it got me. It got me way more than the first iteration. Ferrell playing the ho-hum dad who is in touch with his feelings and Wahlberg playing the tough, macho guy who, well, is working on his feelings. I got the sense that in the first film, Ferrell helped Walhberg become more sensitive and is a new man now.

And as in every sequel, more characters are introduced. In this film we see the dads. First, Wahlberg’s dad is Mel Gibson, who is making a Hollywood comeback. Sure. Okay. However, when I say this trailer got me, it was when Ferrell’s dad came on screen. They cued “Love Will Keep Us Together” perfectly to a jovial John Lithgow coming down an airport elevator. This will be a moment I will remember forever. Etched in my brain.

Now, I don’t know if this movie will be good, or if I’ll even see it. But I saw that Daddy’s Home is streaming on Hulu, so yeah, maybe I’ll watch that and go from there.

Daddy’s Home 2 hits theaters on November 10, 2017.

Leave a Reply

